There could be several reasons:

  1. The proxy server is operational, but because it's remote from you and the proxy is too slow, it takes quite a while for the response to reach your PC - therefore, you think the proxy doesn't work;
  2. Your ISP has restricted access to certain web-sites and then it has found out your were using the proxy server to access these prohibited web-sites. As a result, your ISP has restricted access to this proxy server (only!) for you (only!).
  3. The proxy server's ISP (a proxy-server is a computer connected to the Internet, it also has its own ISP) has denied access to the proxy server from your network (or from your ISP - for competition reasons :-) ). In fact, there could be many reasons for this, absolutely beyond you and not anyhow related to you;
  4. The proxy server's settings prohibit the use of the proxy server from your network (see item 3);
  5. This proxy server is a corporate proxy, that means it has a list of computers (allowed IP addresses) which are allowed to use it. In this case, even if your neighbour uses this proxy successfully, access to this proxy server may be closed for you;
  6. And finally... It could be that you have set your proxy incorrectly! These things also happen. See proxy FAQ on how to set up a proxy server.

Conclusion: even if a proxy server works fine with "everyone", it doesn't mean it will work with you => there are no 100% working proxy servers that work everywhere!

back to proxy FAQ


We know that now you're in

Ashburn, United States
Everyone on the internet knows that!
How protect yourself?
I don't care

Тут может быть несколько причин:

  1. Прокси сервер работает, но он находится далеко от Вас, и прокси работает так медленно, что просто ответ не успевает дойти до Вашего компьютера - и Вы считаете прокси нерабочим;
  2. Ваш провайдер закрыл доступ к определенным web-сайтам, а потом обнаружил, что Вы пользуетесь прокси сервером для доступа к запрещенным web-страницам. И провайдер закрыл (для Вас) доступ к этому прокси (только к этому!);
  3. Провайдер прокси сервера (поскольку прокси-сервер - это компьютер, подключенный к Internet, то у него тоже есть свой провайдер) запретил по каким-то причинам доступ к прокси-серверу из Вашей сети (или от Вашего провайдера). Причины могут быть самыми разными, никак от Вас не зависящими;
  4. Сам прокси-сервер настроен так, что не разрешает пользоваться им из Вашей сети (аналогично пункту 3);
  5. Прокси сервер является корпоративным - то есть имеет список компьютеров, которые могут его использовать (список разрешенных IP адресов). В этом случае даже если Ваш сосед может использовать данный прокси, Вам этот proxy сервер может быть недоступен;
  6. Поскольку прокси сервер является бесплатным, то никаких гарантий его функционирования не дается и даваться не может - т.е. он может время от времени прекращать работать на произвольно долгие периоды времени (по разным причинам), после чего он может возобновлять работу;
  7. Ну и наконец.... Вы неправильно настраиваете прокси! Такое тоже бывает. Как настроить прокси сервер, см в "proxy FAQ"

Резюме: даже если прокси сервер работает "у всех", он может не работать у Вас => не существует 100% рабочих прокси, которые работают везде!

Опубликовано 17.03.2005 на CitForum

назад в proxy FAQ


Мы знаем, что сейчас вы в

Ashburn, United States
В интернете это может узнать любой!
Как защитить себя?
Мне все равно